Agenda

BVR is excited to bring you the first National Economic Damages Virtual Conference on May 26-27, 2021 with a panel of top thought leaders in the profession.

Wednesday, May 26, 2021

Program

 

           10:00am - 11:00am PT / 1:00pm-2:00pm ET
       Intellectual Property Damages
Rick Bero & Autumn Nero

 


 

         11:00am-Noon PT / 2:00pm-3:00pm ET

Case Study: Calculating Covid-19 Economic Damages
Neil Beaton & Elizabeth Fenton

 


 

Noon-1:00pm PT / 3:00pm - 4:00pm ET
But-for Profits
Stacey Udell

 

Forensic accountants and business valuation professionals are often asked to calculate economic damages when a plaintiff seeks to recover economic damages due to wrongful actions of a defendant. Lost profits represent the amount necessary to place the harmed party in a position it would have been “but for” the alleged acts. Join Stacey Udell to learn why every calculation must be credible, contain a reasonable degree of uncertainty, and cannot be speculative.


 

1:00-2:00pm PT / 4:00pm-5:00pm ET
Editors Panel

Steven Veenma, Jimmy Pappas and William Scally

Join the editors of BVR’s Guide to Economic Damages and get a recap of key insights from the day. Ask questions from the topics and beyond.

 


Thursday, May 27, 2021

Program


    10:00am - 11:00am PT / 1:00pm-2:00pm ET
     Depositions, Testifying, and Cross Examination
Robert P. Gray, Robert B. Kester, and Karl G. Dial, Esq.

 


 

11:00am-Noon PT / 2:00pm-3:00pm ET
Forensic Evidence
Rachel Eisenhaure

 

Through the lens of fact patterns drawn from case law, this presentation will cover three areas of spoliation practice: avoiding spoliation, seeking redress for spoliation by another, and remedying spoliation. Using fact patterns from the case law, we will discuss best practices as well as worst-case scenarios.



 

Noon-1:00pm PT / 3:00pm - 4:00pm ET

Planning Credible Lost Profits Analyses for Financial Experts
Jonathan Dunitz

 

Join attorney and author Jonathan Dunitz for a session on the legal predicate for excluding a lost profits damages expert. Learn about factors that the attorney should consider when deciding whether to file a motion to exclude an opposing expert. The second section of the presentation is a compendium of case law on expert evidence from the federal circuit courts and state courts, setting out the expert gatekeeping procedures in each state and discussing the leading lost profits cases and relevant principles in each jurisdiction. Don’t exclude yourself from learning about this critical topic.

 

 


 

1:00-2:00pm PT / 4:00pm-5:00pm ET
Editors Panel
Steven Veenma, Jimmy Pappas, and William Scally 

 

 

Join the editors of BVR’s Guide to Economic Damages and get a recap of key insights from the day. Ask questions from the topics and beyond.

 

 


...............

.................